1 of 5
Analog CyberPunk Compilations
Posted: 31 August 2008 11:29 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Administrator
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-08-31

Hello:

I’ve completed a project for a web zine I’ve been writing since 1997, and since this is THE minimal wave resource I wanted to share it with anyone who might like it.

I’m 47 and have been a fan of electronic, new wave and punk music since the mid 70s. In the late 70s - early 80s I heard a lot of what’s now known as minimal wave in dance clubs and on college radio stations. I had some of it but most was a mystery. The internet opened up a huge archive of this material, which I happily found and worked through for a collection I decided to call Analog CyberPunk (before I knew people were calling it minimal wave and such).

Analog CyberPunk is a collection of underground electronic new wave & punk songs that existed then as examples of a style and not its own genre per say. It’s what I remember it being before new wave lost its underground status and became new romance, top 40 pop and a series of disco variants.

The link is below and the compilations are free for download. There’s daily download limits so I apologize if it’s hit when you get there. I’m adding follow-up comps every two weeks until I run out of songs I think are worthy of sharing.

Emerson
oldpunks.com

Link To Analog CyberPunk:

http://www.oldpunks.com/Analog CyberPunk Page 1.html

Posted: 01 September 2008 09:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  840
Joined  2006-03-03

Judging by the stuff I know, I need to download all of these… Great stuff, you must have put in a lot of work here!

This should be in the “danceable dark synth” or whatsit thread too.

Posted: 03 September 2008 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  214
Joined  2005-12-17