1 of 2
Gear Suggestions
Posted: 21 March 2007 02:02 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Administrator
RankRank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2007-03-04

First off, sorry if this post is a bit junior..

I have three questions:

1. does anyone have any experience with the Roland Jupiter 4? I have the chance to buy one for about 400 canadian, which seems to be a steal. I’ve read it’s kinda limited… advice..?

2. Does anyone out there have any advice on midi gear? I want INEXPENSIVE midi gear at that!!

3. Does anyone have any advice on low-end mixers? I’m thinking about getting a Behringer Xeynx…

Thanks and I love you all.
Luke

Posted: 21 March 2007 08:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2005-12-25

1. I’ve no personal experience, but it is an absolutely perfect synth for someone who digs what this site is all about.  Warm/Cold sound, arpeggiator with hold function and external clock input, user memories.  Perfect for live use (if a little large.)  If you aren’t going to bite for $400 canadian, please PM me the contact info for the seller!  I’ve been very interested in this board.

2. Not sure what type of MIDI gear you want.  Late model USB interfaces can be had for little on eBay.  Cheap Synths I would look for: Clavia Micromodular, Alesis Micron, Casio CZ-101, Ensoniq SQ-80, Korg MS-2000.  You won’t find much analog gear ‘cheap’ without hunting.

3. Mixer: I like the Yamaha digitals (used ProMix01, 01v won’t set you back much & includes usable FX.)

Signature 

b l e a k

Posted: 22 March 2007 12:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
RankRank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2007-03-04

Thanks for the tips!

I’m going to go check out the Jupiter 4 this weekend. If I can’t afford it or I don’t think it’s for me, I’ll let you know!

Posted: 23 March 2007 06:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  214
Joined  2005-12-17