The Art Dance

  • 1.
    Pure Desire
  • 2.
  • 3.
    Nice Song
  • 4.
    Electronic Journey
  • 5.
    Short Wave
  • 6.
    Sexual Desire
  • 7.
    It's Not Too Grand
  • 8.
    Your Lover
  • 9.
    Daily And Blue
  • 10.
    Good Name
  • MW025

Minimal Wave proudly presents a full length LP by Ruins, an Italian electro-wave duo. Ruins formed in Mestre in 1978 with the intention of experimenting with electronic devices and mixed media. They mainly created music out of self-expression without any intention of joining the mainstream. Interested in multimedia, they had a strong visual aesthetic apparent via their album art, videos and projections. The classic hit ‘Fire’ is one of our favorites to date, so powerful with its great energy and beautiful production. It’s where Italo meets Minimal Wave. The Fire video is a must-see in order to grasp the full effect of the song.

The LP entitled “The Art Dance” features a collection of songs, some previously released, others never released before pressed on 180 gram vinyl and housed in a glossy gatefold jacket lined with the band’s history and photos accompanied by a lyrics insert sheet. Listen to the sound samples here.

* Denotes bonus track(s) available only on a CD / Digital version of this release, if a CD / Digital version of this release is available


All sample clips are 30-90 seconds in length

Listening to the audio samples requires the Flash player plugin



    Italian synthfunkwave that first struck me as an utterly charming, synthesizer-loving Euro ESG, but not as naive. Repeated listens, however, revealed other influences, from early-‘80s b-boy hip-hop seen through the lens of YMO and Kraftwerk, to diverse artists like Lizzy Mercier Descloux, Tom Tom Club and LIO. Or imagine Winston Tong-era Tuxedomoon, complete with snaking funk/jazz/wave bass lines. But despite its prerequisite detached cool, Ruins still keeps it funky and elegant. These guys definitely live up to the Minimal Wave standard of obscure, yet original, essential synthwave.

    - Other Music - 2010


    An amazing collection of advanced, early ‘80s Italian electro-wave from Minimal Wave. Formed in Mestre 1978, the duo of Piergiuseppe Ciranna and Alessandro Pizzin created a beautifully expressive body of work defined by crisp, punchy production and a feel for proper minimalist funk. ‘Pure Desire’ could almost pass for some Herbie Hancock experiment, while ‘Fire’ sidesteps Italo’s cheesier cliches with dynamic electro spurts and ‘Nite Song’ comes offlike Bowie playing with ACR. Their anti-mainstream stance allows them to really go out on a limb with the avant-garde tones and texture of ‘Electronic Journey’, but they’re at their best producing deadly electro-jazz pop songs like ‘Sexual Desire’ and ‘Good Name’, or elegant dancefloor heaters like ‘Your Lover’ or the Frankie-esque ‘It’s Not Too Grand’. We’re really, really feeling this one. TIPPED for fans of Alexander Robotnick or Chrisma!

    - Boomkat - 2011