Smile With The Eyes

Five Times Of Dust

Smile With The Eyes



  • 1.
    Smile With The Eyes
  • 2.
    Advertising Space
  • 3.
  • 4.
    I Want Straight Sex
  • 5.
    The Single Off The Album
  • 6.
    Plastische Taschen
  • 7.
    Ethnic Bomb
  • 8.
    Estate Children
  • 9.
    Insect Charge
  • 10.
  • 11.
  • 12.
    The Mainframe
  • 13.
    Riding To Heaven
  • 14.
    Covered In Dust
  • MW048

We’re happy to present Smile With The Eyes: a double LP of selections of unreleased material from the prolific outsider / underground duo Five Times Of Dust. Formed in 1980 in Bristol, Mark Phillips (MAP) and Robert Lawrence came together with a shared passion for Krautrock, Industrial Electronics and the burgeoning DIY tape scene, as well as being influence by the Dadaist movement and the works of Burroughs and Ballard.  Unconventional, quirky and at times melancholic and romantic, their music acted as the perfect escape from the urban decay of early 80s Bristol and Cardiff, the two cities they travelled between on weekends to record. Although unashamedly electronic, the sound of Five Time Of Dust is far harder to pin down, perhaps in part due to their location. Both Phillips and Lawrence produced music that owed little to any scene happening in London, Manchester or Sheffield at the time. As a result, the majority of their output are perfectly formed electronic curiosities.

The material on Smile With The Eyes spans recordings Lawrence and Phillips made between 1982-1986. As a follow up to The Dadacomputer, their debut cassette release as a duo which we reissued earlier this year, Smile With The Eyes remains lo-fi but is musically more complex. The recordings are catchy, curious and emotionally rich. Whereas The Dadacomputer could be compared with the early output of Robert Rental, Smile With The Eyes is a collection of works that stands all on its own.

Smile With The Eyes is a double LP pressed on 180 gram black vinyl and housed in a heavyweight gatefold sleeve. Limited edition to 500 numbered copies. Release date: November 12th, 2013.

Now taking pre-orders. All pre-orders will ship out mid-November.

* Denotes bonus track(s) available only on a CD / Digital version of this release, if a CD / Digital version of this release is available


All sample clips are 30-90 seconds in length

Listening to the audio samples requires the Flash player plugin

Related Items